Women's Soccer

UW-La Crosse Chosen To Win Women’s Soccer Title

MADISON, Wis.--University of Wisconsin-La Crosse, the two-time defending conference champion, has been selected to capture the 2019 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) women’s soccer title, based on a preseason poll conducted by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.
The Eagles claimed the fourth regular-season championship and third tournament title in program history a season ago, and enter the 2019 campaign ranked No. 17 in the United Soccer Coaches NCAA Division III Preseason Poll. UW-La Crosse also reached the “Sweet 16” of the NCAA Division III championship. UW-La Crosse’s 38 victories in the last two seasons is the best two-year stretch in program archives.
Senior goalkeeper Lily Brock tied for top honors in the conference with eight shutouts and placed second with a 0.99 goals-against-average. Junior forward Kaitlyn Villars had a team-high 13 assists and added nine goals for 31 points – second on the team.
The Eagles are followed in the conference predictions by:  UW-Stevens Point; UW-Eau Claire; UW-Whitewater; UW-Oshkosh; UW-Platteville; UW-River Falls; and UW-Stout.
UW-Stevens Point’s 12 overall wins in 2018 were the most since 13 victories during the 2012 campaign and its 21 wins the last two years is the best two-year stretch since 2011-12. Nine starters return, including senior forward Maddy Hardyman, who led last season’s team with nine goals, eight assists and 26 points. Junior defender Kaitlyn Hess finished fourth with eight points. Junior goalkeeper Lexi Pawlowski led the WIAC with a 0.60 goals-against-average, .882 save percentage and tied for top honors with eight shutouts.
UW-Eau Claire advanced to the title match of the WIAC tournament last season for the first time since 2009 and has eight starters returning. Senior midfielder Emily Sullivan could become the program’s third four-time all-WIAC first team selection. She led last year’s squad with 11 goals and 25 points. Junior defender Maddie Ames contributed four points, while junior midfielder Anna Larson and sophomore midfielder Emma Stange each had two assists.
UW-Whitewater has achieved double digits in overall wins 12 straight years and brings back junior forward Anna Boyd, who led the 2018 squad with nine goals, three assists and 21 points. Sophomore midfielder Carlie Nehls was third on the team with eight points, while junior forward Anna Brodjian was fourth with seven points. Senior goalkeeper Nina Yonan compiled a conference-leading 96 saves. Head coach Ryan Quamme is nine victories from matching Greg Henschel’s mark of 126 wins for the most in program history.
UW-Oshkosh has produced at least three conference victories in 10 consecutive seasons and welcomes back its top goal and point-scorer in junior forward Mallory Knight, who had 16 points and seven goals. Also back are junior midfielders Addie Schmitz and Tory Schumann.
UW-Platteville qualified for the WIAC tournament for the first time since 2013 a year ago and produced three conference wins, which were the most since a four-victory campaign in 2013. The Pioneers return 10 starters, including senior forward Amber Lueder, who had a team-best 10 assists and finished second with 10 goals and 30 points.
UW-River Falls’ nine wins in 2018 were the most since the 2015 season. Nine starters are back from last year’s squad, including the top-two point scorers in senior forward Maggie Koehler and junior forward Camryn Altnau. Koehler compiled 23 points on eight goals and a team-high seven assists, while Altnau also had 23 points on three assists and a team-best 10 goals.
UW-Stout sophomore midfielder Marissa Steele was second on the team with nine points on three goals and three assists, while senior midfielder Bella Pedlar also had three goals. The Blue Devils will play four home matches this season – all at Menomonie High School – due to installation of synthetic turf at Nelson Field.

2019 Preseason Predictions--Voted on by WIAC Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors
2018 Record
1. UW-La Crosse 18-3-3 overall, 6-0-1 WIAC
2. UW-Stevens Point 12-2-4, 5-0-2
3. UW-Eau Claire 9-8-2, 4-2-1
4. UW-Whitewater 10-10-1, 3-4
5. UW-Oshkosh 7-11-1, 3-4
6. UW-Platteville 9-10, 3-4
7. UW-River Falls 9-9-1, 2-5
8. UW-Stout 2-13-1, 0-7

Team Capsules
UW-Eau Claire
Head Coach:  Sean Yengo; 23rd season at UWEC; 256-151-43
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  16/9
Starters Returning/Lost:  8/3
Returning All-WIAC:  Emily Sullivan, Sr., M (2016-First, 2017-First, 2018-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Maddie Ames, Jr., D; Sarah Kitterman, So., D; Anna Larson, Jr., M; Emma Stange, So., M
UW-La Crosse
Head Coach:  Jason Murphy; 10th season (6th at UWL); 110-58-16 (overall) / 69-25-13 (UWL)
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  12/15
Starters Returning/Lost:  3/8
Returning All-WIAC:  Lily Brock, Sr., GK (2017-First, 2018-First); Kaitlyn Villars, Jr., F (2017-First, 2018-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Sophie Amundson, So., M; McKenna Falbo, Sr., M; Katie Feller, Jr., D; Natalie Jamison, So., M
Head Coach:  Erin Coppernoll; 20th season (16th at UWO); 183-157-34 (overall) / 159-112-31 (UWO)
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  19/13
Starters Returning/Lost:  8/3
Returning All-WIAC:  Mallory Knight, Jr., F (2018-First); Addie Schmitz, Jr., M (2017-First); Tory Schumann, Jr., M (2018-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Ashley Baalke, Sr., F; Delaney Karl, Jr., F; Maddie Morris, Sr., M; Erin Toomey, Jr., GK
Head Coach:  Emily Ryan; 3rd season at UWP; 16-21
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  19/4
Starters Returning/Lost:  10/1
Returning All-WIAC:  Amber Lueder, Sr., F (2018-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Macie Alexa, So., D; Kylee Colwell, So., D; Kathryn Flaherty, Jr., GK
UW-River Falls
Head Coach:  Sean McKuras; 18th season at UWRF; 153-149-28
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  14/8
Starters Returning/Lost:  9/2
Returning All-WIAC:  Maggie Koehler, Sr., F (2016-First, 2018-First); Mariah Troje, Sr., F (2018-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Camryn Altnau, Jr., F
UW-Stevens Point
Head Coach:  Dawn Crow; 7th season (5th season at UWSP); 39-62-10 (overall) / 30-38-6 (UWSP)
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  15/6
Starters Returning/Lost:  9/2
Returning All-WIAC:  Meaghan Ambelang, Jr., D (2018-First); Maddy Hardyman, Sr., F (2017-First, 2018-First); Kaitlyn Hess, Jr., D (2017-First, 2018-First); Alexis Petersen, Jr., D (2017-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Lexi Pawlowski, Jr., GK; Gracie Wendels, Jr., M
Head Coach:  Ryan Raufus; 9th season at UWST; 55-72-19
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  14/9
Starters Returning/Lost:  7/4
Returning All-WIAC:  None
Notable Returning Players:  Sarah Dickmann, Sr., D; Hannah Kirchner, Sr., M; Bella Pedlar, Sr., M; Marissa Steele, So., M
Head Coach:  Ryan Quamme; 8th season at UWW; 117-31-10
Letterwinners Returning/Lost:  18/9
Starters Returning/Lost:  7/4
Returning All-WIAC:  Anna Boyd, Jr., F (2017-First, 2018-First)
Notable Returning Players:  Anna Brodjian, Jr., F; Katy Kusswurm, Jr., D; Carli Nehls, So., M; Nina Yonan, Sr., GK
# # # # #