Pointers Win WIAC Baseball Championship Title

Pointers Win WIAC Baseball Championship Title

Bookmark and Share

WHITEWATER, Wis.--University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point claimed the 2013 Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) Baseball Championship title and earned an automatic bid into the NCAA Division III Championship with a 6-5 victory over UW-La Crosse at Prucha Field at James B. Miller Stadium on May 12.

The Eagles (21-21) beat the Pointers 2-1 earlier in the day to force a winner-take-all contest in the four-team, double-elimination event.  The Pointers (35-9) fended off a late push by the Eagles in the decisive game to win their second WIAC Championship title in three years and sixth overall.

UW-Stevens Point took a 2-0 lead in the third inning when Brandon Kranz hit a one-out single and advanced to second on a wild pitch. Clint Rose followed by drawing a walk, and Dan Douglas singled while a throwing error by the Eagles’ third baseman allowed Kranz to score and put Rose and Douglas in scoring position.

Ryan Schilter then hit an RBI single to put the Pointers ahead 2-0.

UW-Stevens Point expanded its lead to 6-0 lead in the fourth inning. Jimmy Coady and Bobby Gregorich both reached on walks and Casey Barnes singled to score Coady.

Kranz then stepped to the plate and belted a three-run home run to give the Pointers a 6-0 advantage.

The Eagles put a run on the board when Brooks Braga led off the bottom of the fourth inning with a solo home run.  Cole Cefalu hit a grand slam in the fifth inning to bring the Eagles to within 6-5, but the UW-Stevens Point bullpen combined to allow only two hits over five shutout innings to seal the win and the title.

Brad Stroik earned the win for the Pointers by pitching 2.2 innings out of the bullpen and Tyler Flood earned the save after throwing 2.1 innings.

The Eagles had runners on first and second with two outs in the bottom of the ninth inning, but Flood ended the game with a strikeout.

# # # # #